HELP FILE

What's the difference between online and local recording?

Organizers can choose to save their recording locally to their computer or online to their web account. To check which recording type you're using, view the Settings page on your web account.

With local recording, the recording file is saved locally to the organizer's computer. The organizer or co-organizer who starts recording a session will have it saved to their local hard drive as a .G2M file, and you will need to manually convert those sessions using the Recording Manager.

With online recording, the recording is automatically stored in the cloud and many of these steps are skipped! The organizer or co-organizer who starts recording a session will see a new entry automatically appear on their My Recordings page once the session has ended. There's no need to convert the file or manually upload it – it just appears! From this page, organizers can play the recording, copy the link, download, and delete. The only thing the organizer needs to do is click Share to process it for viewing (if they decide to share the recording with others).

Another major benefit is that online recording can include shared webcams in the recording file, while local recording does not. See Record a Session for more information about changing your recording settings.